Administrative Setup:

South Garo Hills District is divided into four community development blocks (Baghmara, Rongara, Chokpot, Gasuapara) with one Municipal Board to look after the development of rural/urban areas. The district is divided into three Assembly Constituencies viz. Rongara-Siju Assembly Constituency, Baghmara Assembly Constituency and Chokpot Assembly Constituency. The matter concerning the administration including judiciary rests on Deputy Commissioner and matter pertaining to revenues lies with the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council. There is no Panchayati Raj but for the implementation of National Rural Employment Guarantee Act 2005 (NREGA), the Area Employment Councils and Village Employment Councils have been set up in the district.
It is an added advantage that all the line departments like P.W.D. (Building and Roads), Irrigation Department, Public Health Engineering Department (P.H.E), Minor Irrigation Department, Forest Department etc have their divisional and circle level headquarters at Baghmara. Agriculture, Horticulture, Fisheries, Soil Conservation, Health and Family Welfare, Statistic and Evaluation and Sericulture Handloom and Weaving, Education Dept., ICDS, CPWD, MRDS (IFAD), Industry Departments have their district and sub-divisional level headquarters at Baghmara. This provides an additional infrastructure and readymade set up for administering and implementing various backward district initiative programme.
Design: NIC District Unit, South Garo Hills, Bahgmara
Content Provided: The District Administration, South Garo Hills